Notes 1, Myths of the near Future

 

Myths of the near Future (J.G Ballard)

 

https://www.amazon.com/Myths-Near-Future-Panther-Books/dp/0586058885

 

 

 

The spaceship is standing hidden in a small forest near Atlanta, Georgia and Jennifer is about to make a call to X. She is hesitating because she doesn’t know what to say instead she starts to argue with the others in the crew.

 

-Who is Mikaela Shiffrin , says Jennifer to Daniel.

 

-She is an alpine skier I watched on TV, says Daniel.

 

-So you have the nerve to say hi to people you don’t know just like that, says Jennifer.

 

-At least I don’t drink half a bottle of gin in the morning, says Daniel.

 

Jennifer starts to cry and turns towards the others in the crew, she is sobbing:

 

-Do you now understand how evil he is, she says, not only am I innocent of all crimes, I’m being bullied as well by this alpine skiing TV watcher. He even ridicules me for crying.

 

-Do you even know what skiing is, says Daniel, you only watch reality shows and then shoots bullets through the TV with your glock gun.

 

-That was only one time, says Jennifer.

 

-I hate to interrupt this very interesting conversation, says Scarlett and then she takes a deep breath, but I think you must talk to X now Jennifer.

 

-I don’t know what to tell him, says Jennifer.

 

-Tell him you want to meet him, says Lindsay and then you call the police.

 

-I can’t do that, says Jennifer, I need him.

 

-When did you last meet him, says Rihanna.

 

-That was some time ago, I don’t even know where he is today, says Jennifer, I remember once we were on a holiday to the Canary Islands and should go on the plane back home but there was a delay all the time and the plane never took off. After a few days we understood that we would never leave the Canary Island, thousands of people were stuck there.

 

-What happened then, says Marina.

 

-Finally after several weeks we got on a small boat, it wasn’t a cruiser or anything, says Jennifer, we were on that boat for 12 days before arriving to Europe. After some hardship my husband “borrowed” a car that took us to Italy, he has a house there a rather big and nice building in several stages but the strange thing was that the house contained almost no furniture, apart from a desk in the living room that was locked, but I managed to find the key.

 

-And one night you opened the desk and took the money and ran away, says Lily.

 

-Yes, says Jennifer, I left a note that said “I’m leaving, don’t follow me, I pay back the money when I can”

 

Jennifer holds her hands over her face.

 

-Do you have his cell phone number, says Eliza.

 

-Yes, I’m not sure if he has disconnected it, I haven’t called him for a while, says Jennifer.

 

-Here is the cell phone, now call him, says Rihanna.

 

Jennifer takes the phone but she looks puzzled.

 

-What should I tell him, says Jennifer.

 

-Persuade him not to trigger the doomsday machine, says Daniel.

 

Jennifer makes the call and is anxiously hearing the tone and suddenly someone answers.

 

-Hi it’s Jennifer, she says.

 

“Jennifer who?” replies the voice.

 

-Your valued wife stupid, says Jennifer a bit upset.

 

“So it’s you” the voice stops.

 

-Darling don’t trigger the doomsday machine, says Jennifer.

 

“Did you take some money from me a while ago, I want it back” says the voice.

 

-Is that all you can think about, I should smash your face in, says Jennifer angered.

 

“I don’t think so sweetie, I’m usually beating you up” says the voice.

 

-Just don’t trigger the bomb, I have a gun and I will use it baby, says Jennifer.

 

“I don’t know about that, first I want my money back plus $10 million to my bank account in Switzerland, take it or leave it honey, I will destroy the earth if you don’t give me the cash”, says the voice.

 

The call is ended.

 

-Are you there, screams Jennifer in the phone, because I will fill you with lead you miserable, stupid, insensitive internet-crawler!

Jennifer takes few deep breaths and the she says:

 

-That went rather well, she says, usually when we meet we end up beating each other in a rage of violence.

 

Rihanna tries to take back the cell phone but Jennifer is holding it so hard that she almost crushes the phone.

 

-You need to relax, says Rihanna.

 

-Yes I know, I need a drink now, says Jennifer, I tried to talk to him like you said and I think I’m entitled to a drink.

 

They give Jennifer a glass of Bacardi and she drinks it like she always does everything in one take.

 

-The earth will be destroyed, says Jennifer, there is nothing we can do. Then she starts to cry again.

 

-We have to find him, says Eliza, we must give the phone to the computer and locate him.

 

-Can I have another drink meanwhile, says Jennifer.

 

 

To be continued

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Swedish translation

Rymdskeppet står gömt i en liten skog nära Atlanta, Georgia och Jennifer är på väg att ringa ett samtal till X. Hon tvekar eftersom hon inte vet vad hon skall säga, i stället börjar hon att gräla med de andra i besättningen.

-Vem är Mikaela Shiffrin, säger Jennifer till Daniel.

-Hon är en alpin skidåkare jag såg på tv, säger Daniel.

-Så du tycker att du kan säga hej till folk du inte känner bara så där, säger Jennifer.

-Jag dricker i all fall inte en halv flaska gin på morgonen, säger Daniel.

Jennifer börjar gråta och vänder sig mot de andra i besättningen, hon snyftar:

-Har ni nu förstått hur elak han är, säger hon, jag är bara inte oskyldig till alla brott, jag är dessutom mobbad av denna alpina TV skidåkare skådare. Han förlöjligar även mig även för att jag gråter.

-Vet du ens vet vad skidåkning är, säger Daniel, du glor bara på dokusåpor och sedan skjuter du sönder TVn med din Glock pistol.

-Det var bara en gång, säger Jennifer.

-Jag hatar att avbryta detta mycket intressanta samtal, säger Scarlett och sedan tar hon ett djupt andetag, men jag tror måste du prata med X nu Jennifer.

-Jag vet inte vad jag ska säga honom, säger Jennifer.

-Säg att du vill träffa honom, säger Lindsay och sedan ringer du polisen.

-Jag kan inte göra det, säger Jennifer, jag behöver honom.

-När träffade du honom senast, säger Rihanna.

-Det var ett tag sedan, jag vet inte ens vet var han befinner sig idag, säger Jennifer, jag minns en gång när vi var på semester på Kanarieöarna och skulle gå ombord på planet hem, men det uppstod en fördröjning hela tiden och planet lyfte aldrig. Efter ett par dagar vi förstod att vi aldrig skulle lämna Kanarieöarna, tusentals människor fastnade där.

-Vad hände sedan, säger Marina.

-Slutligen efter flera veckor fick tag på en liten båt, det var ingen kryssare direkt, säger Jennifer, var vi på båten i 12 dagar innan vi anlände till Europa. Efter en del svårigheter så lånade min man en bil som tog oss till Italien, han har ett hus där en ganska stor och trevlig byggnad i flera våningar, men det märkliga var att huset nästan inte innehöll några möbler, bortsett från ett skrivbord i vardagsrummet som var låst, men jag lyckades hitta nyckeln.

-Och en natt öppnade du skrivbordet och tog pengarna och gav dig iväg, säger Lily.

-Ja, säger Jennifer, jag lämnade en lapp som sa "jag lämnar dig, förfölj mig inte, jag betalar tillbaka pengar när jag kan"

Jennifer håller händerna över sitt ansikte.

-Har du hans mobilnummer, säger Eliza.

-Ja, men jag är inte säker på om han har kopplat bort det, jag har inte ringt honom på ett tag, säger Jennifer.

-Här är mobilen, ring honom nu, säger Rihanna.

Jennifer tar telefonen men hon ser förbryllad ut.

-Vad ska jag säga till honom, säger Jennifer.

-Övertala honom att inte sätta igång domedagsmaskinen, säger Daniel.

Jennifer ringer upp och hon hör ängsligt tonen och plötsligt svarar någon.

-Hej det är Jennifer, säger hon.

"Vem då?" svarar rösten.

-Din värderade fru dumskalle, säger Jennifer lite upprörd.

"Jasså det är du" rösten tystnar.

-Älskling stäng ner domedagsmaskinen, säger Jennifer.

"Har du pengarna du tog från mig för ett tag sedan, jag vill ha tillbaka dem", säger rösten.

-Är det allt du kan tänka på, ska jag krossa dig, säger Jennifer uppretad.

"Jag tror inte det sötnos, det är jag som brukar slå dig", säger rösten.

-Spräng inte bomben, jag har en pistol och jag kommer att använda det bara så du vet, säger Jennifer.

"Jag vet inte det, först jag vill ha mina pengar tillbaka plus $ 10.000.000 till mitt bankkonto i Schweiz, ”take it or leave it” älskling, jag kommer att förstöra världen om du inte ger mig pengarna", säger rösten.

Samtalet avslutas.

-Är du kvar, skriker Jennifer i telefonen, jag kommer att fylla dig med bly din miserabla, okänsliga Internet klåpare!

Jennifer tar några djupa andetag och säger:

-Det gick ganska bra, säger hon, oftast slår vi varandra i ett raseri av våld.

Rihanna försöker ta tillbaka mobilen men Jennifer håller den så svårt att hon nästan krossa telefonen.

-Du måste slappna av, säger Rihanna.

-Jag vet, jag behöver en drink nu, säger Jennifer, jag försökte prata med honom som ni sa och jag tycker att jag har rätt till en drink.

De ger Jennifer ett glas Bacardi och hon dricker det som hon vanligt i ett drag.

-Världen kommer att förstöras, säger Jennifer, finns det inget vi kan göra, sedan börjar hon gråta igen.

-Vi måste hitta honom, säger Eliza, vi ger telefonen till datorn och lokaliserar honom.

-Kan jag få en drink under tiden, säger Jennifer.


Fortsättning följer

 

 

 

Lady GaGa Super Bowl on Sunday

 
 
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0