The Notes 1, The Cold World

The spaceship is standing hidden in a small forest outside Atlanta, Georgia and the crew is currently reading books. Jennifer gets up and moves towards the rest of the crew. She notices that Daniel is reading a book and she is instantly angered.

 

-What is it you are reading, says Jennifer.

 

-Its “Myths of the near Future” says Daniel.

 

-Why are you always reading those science fiction stories, says Jennifer, I’m not interested in that.

 

-You don’t have to read it, says Daniel.

 

-I don’t like your cold, soulless, emotionless stories that you have trapped me into, says Jennifer angrily, and yes I’m sober I haven’t had a drink for several days. You are like a collector and I am your esteemed sample that you can put on your wall, you have collected me, she says dramatically.

 

-I wouldn’t agree, says Rihanna, I sort of like science fiction.

 

-You are all against me, says Jennifer and you never liked me. I don’t want to be a part of Daniel’s emotionless and cold view of the world, women want love, romance, relationship and friendship.

 

-I think science fiction is about just that, says Daniel.

 

-One thing that I have been thinking about is Daniel, says Jennifer, he never show any emotions, he never cries, laughs, get angry, he doesn’t drink, dance or show any human qualities, are you a robot?

 

-No I’m not a robot, says Daniel.

 

-Why do you never get angry, says Jennifer.

 

-Some time ago I could get angry, says Daniel, I shouted at people for no reason, it was very embarrassing, but I learned how to control myself. I’m sorry for what I did then.

 

-Are you sure that you and the ship-computer are not the same one, says Jennifer.

 

-I’m not a computer, says Daniel I get angry sometimes but I learned to control myself.

 

-I don’t want to be controlled, that is why I’m drinking, says Jennifer.

 

Scarlett has been following the conversation and has a question for Jennifer:

 

-You now admit that you are drinking, says Scarlett, when did you have your first drink?

 

Jennifer looks down on the floor and says in a low voice:

 

-Before when I was in school I had a friend and her father had a mini bar at home, we used to go there and drink after school when her parents were away, says Jennifer. First once a week then almost everyday, after a while her parents found out about it and they grounded my friend and then they moved away from town, they didn’t even say goodbye. After that it all started.

 

-What started, says Marina.

 

-I put on a dress and had make up on so I would look older than my age; I had a fake ID so I could get into bars. In the bars men would buy me drinks.

 

-How could you be so irresponsible, says Marina.

 

-I just had drinks, I didn’t kiss them or anything, says Jennifer.

 

-What happened then, says Lily.

 

-After a while I met my husband, says Jennifer, then of pure boredom I went up one night and went into the living room and took 5 000 dollars from a desk where I knew my husband kept money. I went out in the night and travelled to Sydney Australia. I made a break in to a warehouse (my husband had taught me everything about robbery) I stole some weapons that I sold and bought a ship.

 

-You should never got involved with that man, says Lindsay.

 

Jennifer looks up and says:

 

-I left earth in my spaceship thinking that I would leave all my demons behind, says Jennifer, I landed on the moon and started reading romantic novels, I stayed sober for three  months and I thought I will make it I’m free. Then my space computer tracked a signal on the moon, and that is how I met you, you had free drinks onboard and I was hooked again.

 

-We didn’t know, says Rihanna.

 

-You could have asked, says Jennifer sobbing.

 

-You should have told us, says Rihanna instead you kept it a secret.

 

-I want peace and love; she says not Daniel’s emotionless cold view of the world.

 

-I’m not emotionless, says Daniel, I just have learned how to control myself.

 

-I don’t like to be in control, says Jennifer.

-I think we made progress here, says Scarlett, you have finally told us what happened to you.

 

-There is more I haven’t told you, says Jennifer. When I made a break in at the warehouse someone surprised me and I took a shot at him (I think it was a man, it was at night) I’m not sure I hit him or what took place. I might have hurt him. I think about it everyday it drove me to drink.

 

-We have to find out more about it on the news, says Eliza.

 

 

To be continued

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Swedish


Rymdskeppet står gömt i en liten skogdunge utanför Atlanta, Georgia och besättningen läser böcker. Jennifer reser sig up och tar sig till resten av besättningen. Hon märker att Daniel läser en bok och hon blir omedelbart arg.

-Vad är det du läser, säger Jennifer.

-Det är "Myths of the near Future", säger Daniel.

-Varför läser du alltid läser dessa science fiction berättelser, säger Jennifer, jag är inte intresserad av det.

-Du behöver inte läsa det, säger Daniel.

-Jag gillar inte dina kalla, själlösa, känslokalla berättelser som du har fångat in mig i, säger Jennifer argt, och ja jag är nykter jag har inte haft en drink på flera dagar. Du är som en samlare och jag är din vördade samling som du kan sätta på din vägg, du har samlat in mig, säger hon dramatiskt.

-Jag håller inte riktigt med, säger Rihanna, jag gillar science fiction.

-Ni är alla emot mig, säger Jennifer ni har aldrig gillat mig. Jag vill inte vara en del av Daniels känslolösa och kalla syn på världen, kvinnor vill ha kärlek, romantik, förhållande och vänskap.

-Jag tycker science fiction handlar om just detta, säger Daniel.

-En sak som jag har funderat på är Daniel, säger Jennifer, han visar aldrig några känslor, han gråter aldrig, skrattar inte, bli inte arg, att han inte dricker, dansar inte eller visa några andra mänskliga egenskaper, är du en robot?

-Nej jag är inte en robot, säger Daniel.

Varför blir du aldrig bli arg, säger Jennifer.

-För en tid sedan kunde jag bli arg, säger Daniel, jag skrek jag på folk utan anledning, det var mycket pinsamt, men jag lärde mig att behärska mig. Jag är ledsen för vad jag gjorde då.

-Är du säker på att du och skepps datorn inte är densamma, säger Jennifer.

-Jag är inte en dator, säger Daniel jag blir arg ibland, men jag har lärt mig att behärska mig.

-Jag vill inte vara kontrollerad, det är därför jag dricker, säger Jennifer.

Scarlett har följt
  samtalet och har en fråga till Jennifer:

-Du erkänner nu att du dricker, säger Scarlett, när tog du din första drink?

Jennifer ser ner på golvet och säger med låg röst:

-När jag gick i skolan hade jag en vän och hennes far hade en minibar hemma, vi brukade åka dit och dricka efter skolan när hennes föräldrar var borta, säger Jennifer. Först en gång i veckan sedan nästan varje dag, efter ett tag fick hennes föräldrar reda på det och en förbjöd min vän att träffa mig och sedan de flyttat från staden, de sade inte ens adjö. Efter det började det.

-Vad började, säger Marina.

-Jag satte på mig en klänning och hade make up på mig så jag såg äldre ut än min ålder; Jag hade ett falskt ID så jag kunde komma in barer. I baren köpte män mig drinkar.

-Hur kan du vara så oansvarigt, säger Marina.

-Jag drack bara drinkar, jag kyssa inte dem eller så, säger Jennifer.

-Vad hände sedan, säger Lily.

-Efter ett tag träffade jag min man, säger Jennifer, sedan av ren tristess gick jag upp en natt och gick in i vardagsrummet och tog 5 000 dollar från ett skrivbord där jag visste att min make hade pengar. Jag klev ut i natten och reste till Sydney Australien. Jag gjorde ett inbrott i ett lagerhus (min make hade lärt mig allt om rån) jag stal några vapen som jag sålde och köpte ett skepp.

-Du skulle aldrig haft något med den mannen att göra, säger Lindsay.

Jennifer tittar upp och säger:

-Jag lämnade jorden i mitt rymdskepp tänkte att jag skulle lämna alla mina demoner bakom mig, säger Jennifer, jag landade på månen och började läsa romantiska romaner, jag var nykter i tre månader och jag trodde att jag var fri. Då spårade min dator upp en signal på månen, och det så jag träffade er, ni hade fria drinkar ombord och jag var fast i beroendet igen.

-Vi visste inte, säger Rihanna.

-Ni kunde ha frågat, säger Jennifer snyftande.

-Du borde ha berättat för oss, säger Rihanna istället höll du det hemligt.

-Jag vill ha fred och kärlek; säger hon inte Daniels känslokalla syn på världen.

-Jag är inte känslokall, säger Daniel, jag har lärt mig att behärska mig.

-Jag tycker inte om att ha kontroll, säger Jennifer.


-Jag tror att vi gjort framsteg här, säger Scarlett du har äntligen berättade vad som hände med dig.

-Det är mer jag inte har sagt, säger Jennifer. När jag gjorde ett inbrott i lagerlokalen blev jag överraska av någon och jag sköt ett skott (jag tror det var en man, det var på natten) Jag är inte säker på att jag träffade honom eller vad som hände. Jag kunde ha skada någon. Jag tänker på det varje dag, det drev mig att dricka.

-Vi måste ta reda på mer om det på nyheterna, säger Eliza.


Fortsättning följer

 

 

 
 
 
Pet Shop Boys have said that the lyrics to "Opportunities" are ironic
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0