The Notes 3, The Program part 2

The spaceship is now in orbit around the earth and the crew is in the conference room reading a 3 page piece and Jennifer has a question:

 

-Who wrote this text, she says.

 

-I did, says Daniel.

 

-Because I was wondering about its content, says Jennifer, it says something about therapy, religion, philosophy, meditation and drinking wine and beer instead of strong liquor.

 

-Yes I think you should drink one glass of wine /beer a day instead of strong alcohol, says Daniel.

 

-Don’t you think I would drink more of it to compensate for the loss of alcohol, says Jennifer.

 

-We would only give you one glass a day, says Daniel.

 

-The only thing that helped me was to read books, says Jennifer. I had to be sober when I was reading otherwise the pages were just a blur.

 

-When did you read books, says Daniel.

 

-In my ship on the moon, says Jennifer, I was sober for three months then I didn’t have any more books to read and I didn’t want to read them again. Then I unfortunately met you lot and there was free drinks onboard your ship and I was hooked again.

 

-We could give you books, says Rihanna, we have a library onboard.

 

They all then decide to go to the library. When they enter the room they notice long shelves of books both modern and classics.

 

-What sort of books do you read, says Rihanna.

 

-Mostly romantic novels, says Jennifer.

 

-I know something about romantic novels, says Marina for example “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen.

 

-I try that, says Jennifer.

 

-Do you like science fiction, says Daniel, we have J.G Ballard “Myths of the near Future” and “Concrete Island

 

-No I don’t think so, says Jennifer.

 

-We have Toni Morrison “Beloved”, says Rihanna.

 

-Ok give me that, says Jennifer.

 

Lindsay, Lily, Scarlett and Eliza also take a book when they are at the library.

 

-What book did you take Lindsay, says Jennifer.

 

"The Great Gatsby" by F.Scott Fitzgerald, says Lindsay.

 

 

-And you Scarlett, says Jennifer.

 

-“Madame Bovary” by Gustave Flaubert, says Scarlett.

 

-I took “Everyone worth knowing” by Lauren Weisberger, says Eliza.

 

-I will read “Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley” by Timothy White, says Rihanna.

 

-I’m going to read “The Rise of Athens” by Anthony Everitt, says Marina.

 

-I take “The Grass Is Singing” by Doris Lessing, says Lily.

 

-What book will you read Daniel, says Jennifer.

 

-I’m going to read “The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr” by Clayborne Carson, says Daniel.

 

Jennifer asks if there are any more books she could read:

 

-I’m a fast reader; she says I need more books to stay sober.

 

-Maybe “Brideshead Revisited” by Evelyn Waugh, says Daniel.

 

-Not that one, says Lily it would be a disaster for her, says Lily.

 

-What do you mean, says Jennifer.

 

-It’s about alcoholism, says Lily.

 

-I probably shouldn’t read that then, says Jennifer.

 

-Still it is a very good book, says Daniel.

 

After the visit to the library Rihanna steer the ship towards America and the state of Georgia and they land in Atlanta.

 

Jennifer starts reading and the crew is watching her.

 

-Could I have a drink please, says Jennifer.

-What, are you out of your mind, says Scarlett.

 

Jennifer laughs and says:

 

-I’m just joking, it is funny that you are standing in a circle around me watching me like that, she says.

 

-Read the book now, says Scarlett a bit annoyed.

 

Jennifer starts reading and soon the whole crew is reading their books.

 

They will have a break in an hour to watch the news.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Swedish


Rymdskeppet är nu i omloppsbana runt jorden och besättningen är i konferensrummet och läser ett tre sidigt formulär och Jennifer har en fråga:

-Vem skrev den här texten, säger hon.

-Det gjorde jag, säger Daniel.

-För jag undrar lite om dess innehåll, säger Jennifer, det sägs en del om terapi, religion, filosofi, meditation och dricka vin och öl i stället för starka drycker.

-Ja jag tycker du ska dricka ett glas vin / öl per dag istället för stark alkohol, säger Daniel.

-Tror du inte att jag skulle dricka mer av det för att kompensera för förlusten av alkohol, säger Jennifer.

-Vi skulle bara ge dig ett glas om dagen, säger Daniel.

-Det enda som hjälpte mig var att läsa böcker, säger Jennifer. Jag var tvungen att vara nykter när jag läste annars var sidorna så otydliga.

-När läste du böcker, säger Daniel.

-I mitt skepp på månen, säger Jennifer, jag var nykter i tre månader tills jag inte hade några fler böcker att läsa och jag ville inte att läsa om dem. Sedan träffade jag tyvärr er och det var gratis drinkar ombord ert skepp och jag var fast igen.

-Vi kan ge dig böcker, säger Rihanna, vi har ett bibliotek ombord.

De bestämmer sig för att gå till biblioteket. När de kommer in i rummet så märker de långa hyllor av böcker både moderna och klassiker.

-Vilka slags böcker läser du, säger Rihanna.

-Mest romantiska romaner, säger Jennifer.

-Jag vet en del om romantiska romaner, säger Marina till exempel "Stolthet och fördom" av Jane Austen.

-Jag försöker med den, säger Jennifer.

-Gillar du science fiction, säger Daniel, vi har J.G Ballard "Myths of the near Future" och "Concrete Island"

-Nej jag tror inte det, säger Jennifer.

-Vi har Toni Morrison "Beloved", säger Rihanna.

-Ok ge mig den, säger Jennifer.

Lindsay, Lily, Scarlett och Eliza tar också en bok när de är på biblioteket.

-Vilken bok tog du Lindsay, säger Jennifer.

- "The Great Gatsby" av F. Scott Fitzgerald, säger Lindsay.

-Och Du Scarlett, säger Jennifer.

- "Madame Bovary" av Gustave Flaubert, säger Scarlett.

-Jag Tog "Everyone worth knowing" av Lauren Weisberger, säger Eliza.

-Jag läser "Catch a Fire: The Life of Bob Marley" av Timothy White, säger Rihanna.

-Jag lånar "The Rise of Athens" av Anthony Everitt, säger Marina.

-Jag tar "The Grass is Singing" av Doris Lessing, säger Lily.

-Vad läser du Daniel, säger Jennifer.

-Jag kommer att läsa "The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr" av Clayborne Carson, säger Daniel.

Jennifer frågar om det finns några fler böcker hon kan läsa:

-Jag läser snabbt; jag behöver fler böcker för att hålla mig nykter.

-Kanske "Brideshead Revisited" av Evelyn Waugh, säger Daniel.

-Inte den, säger Lily skulle det vara en katastrof för henne, säger Lily.

-Vad menar du, säger Jennifer.

-Den handlar om alkoholism, säger Lily.

-Jag bör nog inte läsa den då, säger Jennifer.

-Det är en mycket bra bok i vilket fall, säger Daniel.

Efter besöket på biblioteket styr Rihanna skeppet mot USA och delstaten Georgia och de landar i Atlanta.

Jennifer börjar läsa och besättningen att betraktar på henne.

-Kan jag få en drink snälla, säger Jennifer.

-Vad, är du galen, säger Scarlett.

Jennifer skrattar och säger:

-Jag bara skojar, det är roligt att ni står i en cirkel runt mig bevakar mig, säger hon.

-Läs boken nu, säger Scarlett lite irriterad.

Jennifer börjar läsa och snart läser hela besättningen sina böcker.

De kommer att ha en paus om en timme för att titta på nyheterna.

 

 

 

 

Martin Luther King Jr, born in Atlanta, Georgia USA
 

 

 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0